Sitemap Contact Privacy Statement Imprint
2015 Oscar B. Hunter Memorial Award Recipient Announced

Alexandria, Va. (January 5, 2015) —The American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT) has announced the recipient of this year’s Oscar B. Hunter Memorial Award. The award will be presented to Michel Eichelbaum, MD, on March 6, at the ASCPT 2015 Annual Meeting in New Orleans.
The Oscar B. Hunter Memorial Award recognizes unparalleled careers in drug research, major contributions to patient care, and exemplary work in education and training. The award is named for Dr. Oscar Benwood Hunter Sr., an active ASCPT member who served as president and secretary.
Dr. Eichelbaum is professor emeritus of clinical pharmacology at the University of Tübingen in Germany, where he taught from 1996 to 2006. For more than 40 years, he was a physician and professor of internal medicine and clinical pharmacology, training and mentoring more than 60 physicians and scientists—including some of ASCPT’s most esteemed leaders. In 1985, he became director of the Dr. Margarete Fischer–Bosch Institute of Clinical Pharmacology in Stuttgart, Germany, which became world-renowned under his leadership.
A global authority in clinical pharmacology, Dr. Eichelbaum is also a pioneer in pharmacogenomics, ever-exploring the consequences of genetic polymorphisms on the efficacy and toxicity of medicine. He discovered what is now known and studied as the CYP2D6 genetic polymorphism, and identified numerous drug-metabolizing enzymes and drug transporter proteins. His research has extended into oncology, with special emphasis on breast cancer treatment, HIV, psychiatry, and organ transplantation. Dr. Eichelbaum has been recognized many times throughout his career, winning Vanderbilt University Medical School’s Grant R. Wilkinson Distinguished Lectureship Award in 2006, and the German Society for Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology’s Oswald Schmiedeberg Award for lifelong scientific achievements in 2008.
Although he official retired in 2006, Dr. Eichelbaum continues to serve clinical pharmacology as an educator, mentor, and speaker. He is an adjunct professor at the University of Adelaide, Australia, a member of the External Advisory Board for the Pharmacogenomics Research Network, and a frequent keynote speaker at international scientific meetings. He has published more than 400 peer-reviewed papers—many of which are highly cited.

Sharon Swan, FASAE, CAE